D. Dimofte, A. Luca, R. Gheorghe, M. Visan
Wednesday 19 December 2018 by Libadmin2018


The North Dobrogean Orogen is located between the Sf Gheorghe fault to the north and Peceneaga -Camena to the south. Structurally, it involves four tectonic units with NW-SE direction: Măcin unit, Niculițel unit, Consul unit and Tulcea unit. The Măcin unit comprise a large variety of rocks assemblage, including sedimentary rocks, metamorphic rocks and igneous rocks. All this rocks assemblage belongs to several subunits developed on quasi-parallel NW-SE direction. Măcin unit has been interpreted as nappe folded over the Niculițel and Consul units on SW-NE direction. Field measurement of the numerous fault and fissure planes, in Măcin unit and Consul unit, highlight a percolate movement on NW-SE direction that is in conformity with the limits of the major units. Faults slip sense was determined using the fault striations very widespread in this units, and kinematic indicators highlight a dextral strike-slip. The field observation doesn`t support the interpretation of Măcin unit nappes folded over the Niculițel unit and Consul unit. Locally, Măcin unit and Consul unit have been disrupted by another secondary movements strike-slip type, but with different direction. The most prominent of this last fault direction are parallel with Pecineaga- Camena fault which delimitate North Dobrogea from Central Dobrogea.

Keywords: North Dobrogea Orogen, strike-slip fault, dextral strike-slip fault

Home | Contact | Site Map | Site statistics | Visitors : 0 / 353063

Follow site activity en  Follow site activity OIL AND GAS EXPLORATION  Follow site activity Papers SGEM2018   ?

CrossRef Member    Indexed in ISI Web Of Knowledge   Indexed in ISI Web Of Knowledge

© Copyright 2001 International Multidisciplinary Scientific GeoConference & EXPO SGEM. All Rights Reserved.

Creative Commons License